How this surprising rule can help you drain more putts

On the green, you’re entitled to a clear path to the cup. If loose impediments block your way, the Rules of Golf permit you to remove them. 

You probably knew that.

But what if we turn that scenario on its head? What happens if your playing partner, putting before you, removes a loose impediment that you think stands to benefit you — a leaf or a twig, say, that might redirect your ball into the hole? Can you put that loose impediment back where it was?

Admittedly, this is a rare occurrence. But as with all rules-related matters, it pays to know your rights, especially when the answer might surprise you.

That’s where Jay Roberts comes in. As the USGA’s senior manager of rules, technology, content and education, Roberts has become the familiar face of the organization’s short, illuminating rules videos, plain-spoken explainers of how the game’s written guidelines apply in practice.  

In the video below — one of the USGA’s most-watched of the year, with more than a million views — Roberts demonstrates a subtle but important point. His playing partner putts first and removes a small stick from his line. When it’s Roberts’ turn, he replaces the stick back into position before making his stroke.

Surprising? Maybe. Permissible? Absolutely.

The rules make clear that you’re entitled to play your shot under the conditions as you encountered them. If a loose impediment was already in your line of play when your ball came to rest on the putting green, and another player removes it before your turn, you are allowed to put it back.

Consider it another reminder that a working knowledge of the rules isn’t just about avoiding penalties. It’s also about understanding your options, and decisions that can lead to lower scores.

The post How this surprising rule can help you drain more putts appeared first on Golf.